Poets logo

Notice Me

a short poem about a high school crush

By Davlin KnightPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Peaches-Eleni Drake

Time didn't stop like in the movies,

You didn't notice me,

A desk apart from you and not one glance.

I thought falling in love involved two people,

but looks like it was only me.

Through the gaps of our desk,

I would watch your shoes and admire your legs,

I know I sound like a creep.

I accepted you for all your flaws,

the ance, the chapped lips, the messy hair,

I just wish you'd notice me.

One hour and thirty minutes to watch you from afar,

I sometimes wished to reach out and touch your arm.

The day you held the door open for me is etched in my mind,

Time froze this time,

Time gave me a moment to stare into your grey-blue eyes,

A chance to get so close that I could smell the laundry detergent off your clothes,

I almost leaned to kiss you,

But I was too lost in the fact that you noticed me enough to open a door.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Davlin Knight

Just an awkward guy with lots to share!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.