Poets logo

Nothing is meant to stay the same

Poem

By Muhammad iqbalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Nothing is meant to stay the same
Photo by Poodar Chu on Unsplash

Nothing is meant to stay the same

Tell me that those stars up in the sky,

Will stay forever there.

And I'll promise you till I die,

That I'll always be right here.

And I know that you can't tell me this,

'Cause nothing is meant to stay the same and you know it.

And you just know it!

Tried to hold on to the happiness I got,

But it turned it's back on me.

You and I are us, that's what I thought,

Until you opened my eyes to see.

I can't be the one for you forever,

'Cause nothing is meant to stay the same and you know it.

You just know it!

I went downtown looking for our favorite club,

Didn't find it at all, 'cause it has turned into a grocery store.

Every memory we made there is now being rubbed,

And there's no way we can help it to restore.

It is like a dead end for us,

'Cause nothing stays the same and you know it.

You just know it!

Tell me that those stars up in the sky,

Will stay forever there.

And I'll promise you till I die,

That I'll be always right here.

And I know that you can't tell me this,

'Cause nothing is meant to stay the same and you know it.

You just know it! (Yeah)

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.