Poets logo

Nothing is Enough

A poem about nothing

By Nadia IrisPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I’m quite aware I’m different

And I’m not afraid to say

I’m not like all the others

That live their day-to-day

I’ve had my epic journey

So I know what life’s about

Denial cannot be used on me

As a way of backing out

I’ve seen the world in motion

And I know what it can be

And this is why an average life

Will just not do for me

I know of losing hope in grief

And the pain of a broken heart

I know the language embedded in

Stories, poems and art

But just how valid darkness is

So too must there be light

And it is for this reason

My heart has an appetite

I cannot settle for a life

Which observes the planet bleed

I cannot blindly follow

The insane rules that we’ve agreed

Nothing is enough for me -

That can be understood two ways -

On one hand I’ll be seeking

For a better life... always

Nothing is enough for me

Also means I’m satisfied

I know the answers and the joy

And the truth that lies inside

Nothing is enough for me

Because I do believe

That we create reality

Based on what we can conceive

If my thoughts are mine to think

Then why not choose to really fly?

Remove the limits and the roof

Of the thoughts that pass me by

You have that power also

Trust me you really do

So why not break the chains inside

And do what makes you, You?

Nothing is enough for me

Because I feel that we can be

A nation and a world

That lives in balanced harmony

A mundane life of sleeping

While walking through the street

Instead of greeting the birds above

And those we’re meant to meet

The smiles upon our faces

Have gone - you can’t deny it

But what if you expressed a smile

To someone first? Just try it!

Why in all that’s good and grand

Would you not smile at someone first?

Ask yourself if feeling kindness

Feels better or worse?

We all like to be smiled at!

But even more than this,

We like to smile at others!

A chance we often miss

No thing is enough for me

I’m content in Present Time

I’m connected to the universe

When writing words that rhyme

So, if a life of separation

Is the best that we can do,

All I can suggest to ask:

Is that enough for you?

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Nadia Iris

• I write from a place of sincerity •

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.