Poets logo

Notes on a Notebook

Catching a spark

By Frances RayePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

An incomplete list

A nonsensical rant

Scattered pieces of a plan to become a better person than I am

Attempts to be funny or profound- all falling short.

* * *

Bits here,

Bits there

Messy scrawls,

Ripped apart,

Crossed out,

Burned

* * *

Two pages in a Moleskine

A dozen open Word documents

An email sent to myself

How can I categorize?

Label and divide

Is this art

Or nonsense?

* * *

They say there is no substitute for daily practice

But inspiration always seems to strike at the most inconvenient times

Like a song lyric that visits me in the shower

A poem that sketches itself inside my brain while I’m drifting off to sleep

But when the pen is pushed to move

It never yields

* * *

Inspiration’s shadow taunts me

Sliding in and out of consciousness

But when I turn to capture it, it has already moved.

* * *

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Frances Raye

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.