Poets logo

Not Your Game

Tarin McDaniel

By Tarin McDanielPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

You get mad when I call you out.

Now you're taking it out on me.

I just call 'em like I see 'em Darlin.

Welcome to your reality.

The double standards you're playing at,

Are just as generic as they were before.

Come at me when you up your game.

Those lame ass excuses won't work anymore.

Who do you think you're fooling,

With fake bullshit and the lies?

The mask you wear is very broken.

It never was much of a disguise.

I told you when this started,

"You say that now, but we shall see."

You swore to me that you were different,

But the same ole you, you'll always be.

The smile you brought to my face,

Gave me hope that I was wrong.

I almost believed I'd found the one,

That I searched for so very long.

You think that you're a player,

And you can treat me just any ole way.

I refuse to be disrespected.

Just be a man, because Im not a game.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Tarin McDaniel

I am a wordsmith and amateur poet. My poetry has always been my outlet and I only hope to start to get it out into the world, in hope of the possibility that it might help someone else.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.