Poets logo

Not Too Late

Words left unsaid

By Judey Kalchik Published 4 months ago 1 min read
15
https://pixabay.com/users/engin_akyurt-3656355/

'He's gone too soon...'

'It's just not fair...'

'Always so kind...'

'She was always there..'

~

'Such amazing talent...'

'I hope he knew...'

'There will never be another...'

'Honest through and through...'

~

Praise, love, regret;

spoken from down deep.

Heavy in our hearts

we sigh and weep.

~

Somehow the grief

unlocks the gate.

Thoughts we meant to share

then decided 'Wait.'

~

Words, left unsaid

taste of regret.

Counting on time

we lose the bet.

~

Please, tell them now,

don't hesitate.

Don't put it off,

it's not too late.

~

If I've touched you

please let me know.

Don't just eulogize

me when I go.

~

Our time's not long,

it's fleeting fast.

Share memories now

before life's past.

~

Yes, it's cathartic

this outpouring of grief.

But share the love now,

'cause time is brief.

~

-January 18, 2016

I wonder, have I told those I love how much I appreciate them?

Have I done it to the level with which I've shared how much I'll miss those artists we've lost over the past few years?

I need to make sure my personal superstars know how important they are. How appreciated they are. How much they are loved.

It's not too late.

~

Comments welcomed. You can use your comment to let us know why you appreciate your personal superstar!

social commentarysad poetryheartbreakElegy
15

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    It's soo good! Well done!

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Oh my, this one touched a chord in me. Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem

  • "Don't just eulogize me when I go". Totally agree with that. Show people love when they're still alive. Loved your poem!

  • It makes me think of "Tuesdays with Morrie" where they eulogize him before he dies. In case I've never told you (or simply haven't told you enough), I admire you not just for your love of books & reading in general but for your constant support for others, your authenticity, your sense of right & wrong, how well you right & how simply & plainly you are able to guide us through so many things. You were the first to ever lift up one of poems just last year & I will always be grateful to you for it.

  • Rasma Raisters4 months ago

    Nicely penned. Your heartfelt poem made me think of my favorite musical artists who have gone away but have left their songs to carry on their memories,

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is so true. Sometimes it's hard, but the words really need to be said. Don't wait until it's too late.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    So true and beautifully done!

  • Beautiful! It is important to repair relationships and let people know how much you care before you (or them) are dead. Thank you for the reminder to start now before it is too late.

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is such an important reminder and you've written it with such grace. 💗

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    "The trouble is, you think you have time." ~ Bhudda That fact is so well expressed in this piece, Judey. Well done!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Again in the feels with such eloquence, Judey! This reminds me of a sentiment in one of my own poems from last year "Imagine..." I think you actually commented. Love the encouragement to tell people who've touched us that they have. I think we shrink back too much from doing it and we shouldn't. I will just say now, in case it's not been heard properly - your words frequently touch me, Ms Kalchik. Well done on this. I bet this will be Top Story soon.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.