Poets logo

Not Today

Sick Day

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
Not Today
Photo by Isabella Fischer on Unsplash

I sent the message,

"Not today."

Not to anyone

in particular,

but to the voices

inside my head who said,

"Do Laundry."

The voice commanded.

I leaned back in my chair

Pulled a blanket

over my body and said,

"Not Today."

Thoughts drifted

in and out of consciousness

some made me smile

Some made me revisit

a unfriendly truth.

With a flick of thought

I flicked the grumbles away

and said,

"Not today".

Those who stayed,

those who left

visited my thoughts.

I tucked the blessed ones

back into my soul

and squarely faced

the ghost of those

who left me sad and lone

to serve them their eviction notice.

You no longer are welcome

here and no longer

will you live in my head.

You are not allowed to visit

especially, "Not today."

Fresh snow covered

the earth and trees

The shovel beckoned

me to go out to play.

The beep of the

thermometer revealed

my elevated temperature.

With a sigh, I answered,

"Not today."

Whispers of deeds left undone

beg to be seen

beg to be cared for

and all I can say is,

"Not Today."

For Fun
3

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    We all need to say that on occasion! "Not today!"

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Get some rest. Some people feel guilty saying no to regular chores. The poem is allowing yourself to get a break from it all. Good for you 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.