Poets logo

Not This Year

2021

By Sonja EdwardsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Not This Year
Photo by Sandra Seitamaa on Unsplash

This Year

2021

This year I didn't put up a Christmas tree;

because I didn't have anything to go underneath.

I'm so grateful to be alive

as many others suffered from this pandemic and some have died.

Doctors overwhelmed with anticipation

To give people hope for their situation

Trying to find a cure for COVID-19 and give us answers

While scientists are still trying to find the cure for cancer

No not this year I'm not worried about a tree

I'm grateful to be alive that makes me happy

I'm not in debt because of Christmas, I have rent and bills to pay

Christmas is not what it used to be to me it's just another day

To spend what we don't have for things we don't need;

Then trying to rob Paul to pay Peter with no job or money

Christmas is about love family and most of all Christ

I wonder what would Jesus say when we were bought with a great price

He laid down his body and gave of his life, the gifts that were brought for Him were simple and plain

Not extravagant from high price stores or some high-end names

No not this year I didn't put up a tree my grandkids know that I love them unconditionally

Our gifts are everyday when God allows us to wake up and see

While others don't have a roof over their heads and nowhere they can be

I look back over my life and everything I have been through with a loving heart and tears

No I do not care to buy or put up a Christmas tree no, not this year.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Sonja Edwards

I am 56 years old. l love God poetry, stories, creating, designing, art, and I have an online store called God's Flourishings No.1.

gods-flourishings-no-1.myshopify.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.