Poets logo

Not Scared of Volcanoes

I'm not!

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
Kilauea, Hawaii AP PHOTO

i could point out in details

a list of things that give me the willies

i could go on at great lengths

re the intricacies of my sillies

i’m no good with heights or edges

large bodies of water or lakes

spiders give me the heebie jeebies

and i'm completely shit scared of snakes

i’m scared of drowning upright in the shower

or forgetting to breathe while i’m asleep

what waits for me after this next slumber

when i lay me down to weep

wet cardboard is my kryptonite

or driving in thick fog

an empty house on a cold dark night

a heart attack on the bog

but lava and magma do not faze me

and all the fiery threats that they could pose

active dormant or extinct

i’m not scared of volcanoes

social commentarysurreal poetry

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Such a great piece! I found a few things to add to my list of fears. lol! Love this playful poem, Brenton! Well done!

  • Ranjan Baral12 months ago

    This is lovely. Well done. Waiting for more from you

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    “Drowning upright in the shower”. Let me add that to my list! 😊. Congratulations 🥇🥇🥇

  • J. R. Lowe12 months ago

    Haha this is great - love the vocab 😂

  • Congratulations on your TS!

  • Jazmin Fernandezabout a year ago

    That looks like in hell, Brenton! Congratulations on your Top Story :)

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    You achieved greatness with the line ‘wet cardboard is my kryptonite’ 😊Congratulations on Top Story 🎉

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This is so well done. Playful and silly, yet so relevant. The cardboard box pissed me off, kryptonite, what a hoot. Congrats on the Top Story. We don't see you here enough

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Well, that's an interesting list, and a very well-written poem. Congratulations on Top Story! Personally, I'm just weird. Spiders are awesome. I'll play with them and snakes. Heights, water? No problem. Lava fascinates me. I'd probably have a problem with a pyroclastic flow, though.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I love snakes and spiders!! But I hate deep large bodies of water.lol I loved this! Excellent work 👌🌟

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I just love the way you write. And that's a hard pass from me on the snakes!! Great work as always and congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a year ago

    Yay! Top Story!!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Rats, so cute, but no rats please. You so weird, volcanoes for real dude! I guess you goin' be happy in Hell with Bro Satan. He got you covered.😂🤣🙄. Congrats on a really sweltering TStory.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    Wet cardboard is pretty vile!

  • This was so relatable. In the sense that I'm not afraid of rats or snakes or stuff like that. But a cockroach, oh my god. It's my worst fear.

  • Andrew C McDonaldabout a year ago

    This, unlike active volcanoes, is quite cool. Easy to read with a nice rhythm and relatable content. Good job.

  • Testabout a year ago

    Fucken hell, I love this. I relate to so much of it. It’s brilliant really. Thank you, Brenton.

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a year ago

    Almost Seussian, the rhythm and rhyme. And even the subject matter, lol. Very fun to read and reread! Your subtitle made me think the poem would go differently, maybe a denial poem about being scared of volcanoes, yet at the end, I believe the speaker. He’s not scared of volcanoes (at least, he’s scared of other things more). So…I guess all I have to say is, I’m as scared of volcanoes as I am of sharks, which is to say, only if I was near one. Lol.

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.