Poets logo

Not Necessarily

A Weeks Worth Of Words

By Craig JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

This isn’t who I’m supposed to be, but I am.

This isn’t how it was supposed to happen, but it did.

We argue, and we have opinions,

Mistakes force a sea change,

But as long as the pain is still profitable,

I’ll pay its price.

Redundant and rehearsed,

I am not the struggle.

This is not the end all be all.

between periods and commas,

or supposed by a question mark.

Polite yet persistent,

Without manners or a sign from God.

We knew better so we kept blind,

We begged for a mantra

That made sense,

That filled us up with

Quite confidence to stumble into

The darkness,

Lacking fear and formality,

Wanting of nothing and no one,

Content within the context

Of how I see myself.

You can’t go backwards

So,

we subscribe to a

strategy of tension,

with no will or imagination,

I invite love and conflict,

And refuse to stop pushing the boulder up

Hill both ways,

I can't think of a better use

of my time.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Craig Johnson

yes...it’s true, I am a liar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.