Poets logo

Not Long at All

tallywackers and dillydally

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2

i’ve wacked my tally

and dilled my dally

and all our storms are in a port

we only grill in the galley

i've collected my nonsense

in a brown paper jar

looks highly effective

it's chance of existence

or better yet

the span if it’s life

less than that of a butterfly

i hiked and i hitched

i moaned and i bitched

whenever i felt the need

to travel and complain

i made a whole navy

of paper boats one summer

and i floated that fine fleet in the rain

i would not be conquering

the world this day

my fleet and all my dreams

were either sodden and sunk

or swept down the nearest drain

i'd stand there bewildered

unable to curse

my gutter once a majestic port

now just littered

with the remnants

of another little boys imagination

thinking back

the butterfly has long been gone

i'm tired as i groan

the world has grown long indeed

we are supposed to be thankful

but somedays

it just gets old

...

..

.

surreal poetrysocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Brenton F

I've beared no sick words

Junk words, love words

Fuck you words from Jesus

Lowlife: Jesus and Mary Chain

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.