Poets logo

Not Just a Carer

A Poem About My Dedication to My Job

By Charlotte HoyPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I repeat myself ten times every day,

Sometimes I have to guess what they're trying to say.

They can't communicate like you and I,

But I know what they mean from that look in their eye.

I hold their hand when they feel scared,

I brush their teeth and comb their hair.

I know just how they like their cup of tea,

Who has two sugars and who has three.

I wake them with a smile on my face,

I let them know they're in a safe place.

I tuck them in at bed at night,

I tell them everything will be alright

Sometimes they forget who they are,

Some days they call out for their ma.

I do my job because I care,

When they miss their family, I am there.

I comfort them when they are sad,

There's more to caring then changing pads.

I treat them like a family of my own,

I listen to them when they want to moan.

I sing with them and make them smile,

Just once a day, makes my job worthwhile

I love to sit and reminisce,

About the times they really miss.

And when their time comes and the end is near,

I'll kiss them on the head, and whisper in their ear,

"Goodbye my friend, rest in peace,"

I've done my best to say the least.

Many people say, "I couldn't do what you do..."

But my job is nothing special, it just helps when you care too.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Charlotte Hoy

I’ve been enjoying writing for a few years now. I mostly do it for my personal enjoyment but I have had comments saying I should share my poems with other people. So here I am. Most of my poems share the same theme, hopefully relatable.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.