Poets logo

Not Afraid Anymore

A free verse poem

By Real PoeticPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
85
Not Afraid Anymore
Photo by Kyle Cleveland on Unsplash

You beat me.

Choked me out.

Told me I could never

live without you.

Now I write to escape the

horror story that you

played the antagonist in.

I remember the day you

told me no one would

ever read what I pen.

I won’t let your ungodly sins

ruin how I view myself within.

Those days are over.

When you placed

that gun to my head,

you were dead to me then.

You always said you didn’t

mean to take it that far.

Sorry, I don’t believe that.

I don’t even know who you are.

The strength you tried to

smother and cover up

eventually oxidized

and revived on its own.

I just needed to be shown

and reminded of my worth.

For your sake, I hope

heaven is on earth.

Cause I’m sure if not, your

place in hell is reserved.

I won’t be concerned.

You get what

you deserve.

sad poetryFree Versefact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
85

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (56)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Teresa Renton3 months ago

    Beautiful and raw. And I hope you do realise your worth xx

  • Teresa Joiner3 months ago

    Congratulations! Good work!

  • Sean Elliott3 months ago

    Beautiful, inspiring work!

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Excellent work R.P. ☺️👏 I’d missed this one. So much PHOAR! I was also about to say have you expanded on this from a prior piece at all?… there were a couple of lines that felt familiar from you.. yet maybe this is just my recognition of your exploration of certain themes. 🤔

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    IM HAPPY TO BE YOUR 80TH LIKE. Well done my friend!

  • Sasi Kala4 months ago

    wow excellent poem congrats!

  • I am back for another read of this amazing poem and to congratulate you for the Top Story! 🥳

  • Naomi Gold4 months ago

    ‘Now I write to escape the horror story that you played the antagonist in.’ That’s the way. Love that for you. 🩷 Between Megan’s “Hiss” and your poem, I’m feeling so inspired this week.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    RP...you just have a gift...for this kind of beauiful grit. This is art, but wiht a beating heart and haunted soul. It takes a lot of courage to write something like this. So honest, raw and ultimately positive. Well done and congrats on Top Story!

  • Anna Michelle4 months ago

    "For your sake, I hope heaven is on earth." Beautiful line. Congrats on Top Story. ❤️

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Wow this poem is amazing, I love the story it tells. Congrats on a well deserved TS

  • Ken Douglas4 months ago

    Your poetry is interesting. Buy I love this guy's poetry 👇 https://www.facebook.com/100010296994439/posts/2183692751983937/?mibextid=rS40aB7S9Ucbxw6v I found it on Facebook and it was worth my time!.

  • Hope Martin4 months ago

    I love this poem so much. It resonated within my soul, and lit that familiar burning I feel when I survived some pretty horrible stuff. You are amazing.

  • Test4 months ago

    Well done! Keep pushing forward with your excellent work—congrats!

  • I love that even though this is sad it is strong and powerful and uplifting in the end. Excellent writing and well deserving of a top story!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    More than amazing, you have placed power in your words that needed to come out a huge Congratulations

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    OUTSTANDING! This captures the emotions of so many women who were, are, and might be squashed under the thumb of someone who feels and acts superior. BRAVO on allowing emotions to flow.

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Beautiful!🥰

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wow, this is quite a poem, very deep and powerful words. I hope this is fictional. If it’s not, I’m truly sorry you had to go through it. 

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Oh. My. Gosh. This is so powerful and passionate and evocative. Just so raw and well written. I really hope this isn’t autobiographical and if it is I am so so sorry.

  • Patrick H4 months ago

    Powerful stuff

  • LaTonya Staples4 months ago

    Amazing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.