Poets logo

Not a Rebel

A Sestina About Being Timid

By Kendall EarlPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’m the total opposite on of a rebel. A

My values hold me to what is right. B

I was taught by a young age to go wherever my sister goes. C

My parents mostly sheltered us. D

Both were a protective woman and man. E

I’ve always been a lover not a fighter at any rate. F

Once the kids realized that, I was being picked on at an increasing rate. F

I was bullied everyday by the neighborhood “rebels.” A

My parents taught me to never mistreat due to the color of woman or man. E

Even as a kid I knew that doing so wasn’t right. B

I never wanted anyone to be hurt the way other kids did to us. D

“Treat others as you want to be treated” that’s how the saying goes. C

“Being bullied in school is just how it goes…” C

I guess it must be according to national rate. F

So called “professionals” say that it’ll help “strengthen” us. D

They thought it would give me the energy and drive of a rebel. A

Well then what about when I am called ugly and dark? Is that right? B

The ridicule of one’s peers can weaken any man. E

I met a rather cute man. E

While we sat and chatted as the traffic goes. C

As the familiarity strengthened, I felt just right. B

We wondered if something could be done to lower the cop killing rate. F

What I didn’t know, was that he was quite the enraged rebel. A

He was an anarchist who believed that killing white people was good for us. D

“An eye for an eye does not save us!” D

“You’re just an Oreo, man!” E

I’m Black on the outside and white on the inside; according to a rebel. A

We can’t kill other races to get peace, that’s not how it goes. C

Yet I’m a traitor to desire to negotiate, than see black folks killed at such a high rate? F

I must have missed something, right? B

I was sure that the man had been crazy; that I was in the right. B

I still feared for all of us. D

I feared for the safety of my family, myself, and even that stupid man. (To a certain rate) F

Still, the answer to violence is not “anything goes.” C

Civilization shall not fall due to any man. E

As I said, I am not a rebel. A

I will still do what’s right, despite the words of that man. E

Sure things still are hard for us as the years come and goes. C

At any rate, I am not a rebel. A

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kendall Earl

I am a student at University that is majoring in English. I hope to be a novel writer and am trying to work on my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.