Poets logo

Nostalgia

The Hit Grips

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Nostalgia
Photo by Annie Nyle on Unsplash

Here today as I sit in front of a tray

I write away in a notebook to keep the laziness at bay

I need to create, so I grab a paper and pen

My words do more than replicate, I find new phrases for them

In this place that I work, here in September

I'm hit with memories and feelings, I do remember

Summer's hold is letting go, First will come the Fall then snow.

Flashbacks from days of old, Nostalgia grows Memories all start to flow

By LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

...

A feeling

A feeling that's fleeting

A feeling repeating

A feeling that touches parts of my mind

My neurons that link start to find

Latching

Mining into the cranial depths

Attaching

Emotions that elicit my heart

Like I'm feeling them from the very first start

By Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

...

Memories of walking through apple orchards and getting a piece of

Warm oven baked pie . While on cartoons a vampire kid avoids eating garlic pizza.

Nickelodeon, Cartoon Network, and Disney all have Halloween Specials

Shows that are years old are repeated since they're so special

The sound of raking leaves as they're being crunched

The heaviness of apples in a bag as they're being bunched

By Ana Essentiels on Unsplash

The rumbling engine of the riding mower

The pencil marks on the kitchen doorway, since children are growers

The drawing of a skeleton I did in a calm rush

I smile I had when my skeleton was complimented by my school crush

The sweet taste of donuts fresh from Krispy Kreme

By xandreaswork on Unsplash

The sugar crash we would get after devouring the box as a team

The odd job chores we did to buy Christmas presents

Yeah, the toys were nice, but even more was one another's presence

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

The delight on our faces when we got several inches of snow

The disappointment on our faces when to school we would still have to go

By Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

The coldness of a gun sinking into my fingers while with my Dad I was hunting deer.

The wardrobe changes from short sleeves to long at this time of the year.

By Matthew Maaskant on Unsplash

The music I'd practice in front of crowds part of a orchestra

The Classical Thunder we jammed to in the car as a family, Trans-Siberian Orchestra

By Arindam Mahanta on Unsplash

The screaming from sledding and snowboarding down many hills

The screaming as snow rushed past us, giving us thrills

The warmth of soup with salty crackers and Ginger Ale when we were sick with chills

The nature walks through woods when we'd spot an animal, sometimes we remain still

By Dollar Gill on Unsplash

Much more

All this and much more

I personally have to explore

All these memories

All these emotions

They're Real

A Treasure Chest

A Treasure Trove

This is what Nostalgia Feels

By Ashin K Suresh on Unsplash

slam poetryperformance poetry
5

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 years ago

    I always enjoy reading the thoughts, insights, and memories of other writers. It gives me the opportunity to get to know you better and oftentimes relive some of my own memiries.

  • I love taking a trip down memory lane and yours was so beautiful! I have a poem about Nostalgia too, an Acrostic poem. It's in my drafts, I'm yet to publish it. Anyway, I truly loved your poem!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Lovely poetry :) Brought up so many remembrances and emotions of my own, well done.

  • Subhi Najar2 years ago

    Beautiful one

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.