Poets logo

Nostalgia.

Poetry about memories and missing someone

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Nostalgia.
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I feel strange when I miss you

Like there's this empty feeling

Almost like a hole inside me

That I can't seem to cover up

No matter how hard I try to

You're always deep in my bones

My body aches when I think of you

It's like you're tattooed on my skin

I can't seem to get rid of you that easily

Even though it's been years

I miss the things we used to do together

And the way your eyes light up in excitement

Or how we'd dance slowly in the middle of the room

Giggling at how silly we were and didn't care at all

Your soft lips against mine, I still remember how it felt

I hate this nostalgia thing

It makes me miss you even more

We shouldn't have to go through this

You, who was once in love with me

But we always hurt each other without knowing

That's why we had to part ways long ago

Even though my heart ached the moment you left

I hoped there was a way that we could've stayed together

But seeing you walk out on me

Was the day my heart died

And I haven't been the same since

But I still love you so much

As much as the stars shine at night

And the moon and the sun

The entire galaxy itself

I hope you know that someday

When we meet again

I'll tell you that I forgive you

For what you had done

But we will never go back

To the way we were before

Even though my heart wants to

I don't want to get hurt again

Nostalgia makes me miss you a lot

But it doesn't mean I want you back

I just miss the memory I had of you

When I didn't know the real you

And when I was naive and young

Now I know better than before

Nostalgia, please leave me alone

Don't make me miss you again

I won't be that person you loved long ago

It's time to move on and live my life

Even though I will miss you time to time

But it won't be forever.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.