Poets logo

Northern Lights Within

My rhyming rainbow

By Craig and Wendalynn NewmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Northern Lights

The Northern Lights illuminate wondrously above

I am that same beautiful glow that comes from a place of love

I am the angelic yellow light that answered my parents prayer

A daughter to cherish and raise many memories to share

I am in the purple flowers that I plant the seeds to grow

The earths amazing beauty for everyone to know

I am the gray clouds that only sometimes block the sun

My mind races my mood changes it feels like it’s all or none

I am always ready to receive the words written in red

Trusting in everything that my Savior ever said

I am the orange flames of a fire strong and consuming

I devoured all I was taught my intelligence forever looming

I am his soulmate a white light shining in his life

He is the same for me and our love is worth every strife

I am in the dark green jerseys of my favorite team

Passionate and spirited with my tribe of another championship we dream

I am one with the black wheelchair that helps me navigate my way

I am disabled but not unable that’s what I like to say

I am part of the little pink lady and the handsome boy in blue

My greatest joy is getting to be a mother to both of you

I am one with the brown paint that allows me to create the trunk of a happy tree

I wouldn’t change the colors that make up what is me.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.