Poets logo

Nomad's Lament

Nomad Life

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 25 days ago 2 min read

I was forced to drop out, dreams left to decay, because Mom wanted to live with Grandpa, and wander away. We were supposed to cross the country, to see the world anew, but we stayed in the Midwest, where the sky is forever blue.

Living on hot-dogs and tuna sandwiches, day by day, while Mom had her soda, and Grandpa his smokes, come what may. A childhood lost in the haze of cheap meals and broken dreams, in the shadow of a mother's choices, torn at the seams.

What type of mother puts her son through this? Sacrificing his future, for a fleeting, hollow bliss. Moving from town to town, never finding home, a restless spirit bound, with nowhere safe to roam.

Each school left behind, each friend a distant past, chasing stability, but it slipped from our grasp so fast. Mom, you never saw the tears behind my eyes, the hunger for more than just a life of goodbyes.

Living on scraps, my heart grew cold, in the wake of a mother's desires, uncontrolled. Grandpa’s smokes, Mom’s soda, their comforts retained. While my hopes withered, and my spirit was pained.

Forced to grow up fast, in the turmoil of our flight, dreams of education vanished into the night. What type of mother sacrifices her son’s dreams, for the sake of her own, fragile, fleeting schemes?

Mom, do you see the cost of your wandering ways? The toll on a child, through those restless days? I craved a stable life, a chance to truly thrive, but your choices left me struggling, just to survive.

I remember the nights, under unfamiliar skies, wishing for a home, where love never dies. But instead, we drifted, like leaves in the breeze, bound by your choices, and your desperate needs.

What type of mother puts her son through that? trading his future for a nomadic spat. Mom, I hope one day you’ll understand the weight of your choices, the life you had planned.

For now, I hold onto the fragments of my dreams, in a heart scarred by the pain of your schemes. Hoping to find a path, where I can stand tall, And rebuild the future, that was shattered by it all.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.