Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Nocturnal Pursuit

Don't Underestimate An Owl

By DaphsamPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Nocturnal Pursuit
Photo by Agto Nugroho on Unsplash

I am the watcher of the night so enthrall.

Observing nocturnal killers catching their prey.

Tis one who is human, is the most dangerous predator of all.

My amber fiery eyes tracks who comes to call,

Bang…Bang, a dark form slithers from the house of gray.

I am the watcher of the night so enthrall.

He doesn’t spy me, too small.

I behold him, six feet tall, with a willowy figure trying get away.

Tis one who is human, is the most dangerous predator of all.

Eek! Cry’s the delicate one, now in a full crawl.

The oily shadow so giant, does a quick survey.

I am the watcher of the night so enthrall.

Slam...the clashing of light and shadow unfurls until she falls.

The brooding man picks up his prey, umph, to get away.

Tis one who is human, is the most dangerous predator of all.

Left behind, tattered decay of pure white shawl.

A feather of my own will be added to this display.

I am the watcher of the night so enthrall.

Tis one who is human, is the most dangerous predator of all.

***

My goal for writing this piece was to continue improving my Villanelle writing and add as many onomatopoeias as possible. I have been having fun using this poetic form to tell a thriller story.

Villanelleperformance poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Test5 months ago

    Loved the eerieness of this and absolutely love owls 🤍 People are horrible all in all. Nicely done 🤍

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Loved the sense of mystery you conveyed. I was rooting for the 🦉 Great work 👏

  • Totally agree that humans are the worst kinda monsters! Loved your Villanelle!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    🖤

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.