Poets logo

No Way Home

Where I'm from . . .

By Brandon HoyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
No Way Home
Photo by Valentina Locatelli on Unsplash

Where I am from right is wrong and wrong is worse.

Each income had a shade of green,

lighter the tint, cheaper the dollar.

Given birth by the black sheep,

only to become one of the same.

Raised by an angelic voice,

watched by sets of piercings eyes,

my actions were scripted, portrayed to be willing desires

and put on display to reclaim some sacred honor.

Born and raised in the center of nothing and everything,

in the suburbs of the quiet chaos and white collars.

I am from tranquil days and bustling nights.

Sitting alone at my grandmother’s house.

The stench of too sanitized floors.

The buzz of cloth being sewn.

Those days became hazy as time leaped forward,

leaving memories behind as whispers to be heard,

but to remain a stain of red wine on the fabric of life.

I took flight for the first time,

like a hatchling leaving the nest,

but with navigation skills of an amateur sailor,

I returned for a rest.

Every morning, I was greeted by brightness,

despite my dismay.

The sun beamed through the overhanging clouds.

No matter the storm that brewed,

or thunder that clapped,

even lightning couldn’t hold the sunshine back.

While mountains moved to this powerful display,

the key to this crazy Mother Nature

was simple, just a pen and some paper.

Now as I remain stationary in all walks of life,

all around me, everything’s changing.

Unless one truly focuses, I’m the one growing

while everything remains the same.

Where I am from is not the same

as where I have been,

Just as where I am now

does not equal where I’ll be in the end.

And in the end,

I hope I don’t find my way home.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brandon Hoy

I'm an author near Philly. I want to create a new world for readers to lose themselves in.

I love anime, video games, and most Netflix series, but I probably haven't seen the movie you're talking about.

www. brandonhoy.com

Insta: @a_hoy_there

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.