Poets logo

No parades

The shame of religion and family and acceptance and family

By Zelda FoxxPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
No parades
Photo by Tanushree Rao on Unsplash

I never went to any parades

I was embarrassed

My religion told me I would be in hades

It was 1999,

I tried to come out to my hippie mom.

She really didn't want to accept.

And the doubt did crept.

About who I really was.

I would take no pride.

And I would secretly hide, from who I was.

Because of purity.

Even though I had none.

I really wanted to explore this side, and I tried.

But I shut it down, ironically out of pride.

Until some 20 years later or more

When humanity opened up the pride store

Still I am a very private person

Though people think the opposite

Coming out a little more

But my religious leaning made me feel like a whore

But at my core

I felt free

More accepting

Of me

Which made me more protecting

Of the next generation

Whatever that be

Granted not the end of my story

Who knows how it will end?

Or blend

Into the next story?

Of the following generation?

But I did never go to parade.

Because I was always afraid.

But maybe one day I will step forward and march with those who are courageous, so I have a story to tell about after.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Zelda Foxx

Mother of two facing a mid life crisis or finally living my dreams of trying to make something of my words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.