Poets logo

No One Gets Through Unscathed

A limerick about life's agonizing moments

By Staci TroiloPublished about a year ago 1 min read
9
No One Gets Through Unscathed
Photo by Louis Galvez on Unsplash

If there is a point to all things

Whether we’re peasants or kings

Could someone explain

The abundance of pain

And the absence of joy that life brings?

___________

The only limericks I've ever heard are risqué, and I've never written one. I thought this sounded fun, so I wrote five (in various tones, from light-hearted to serious). I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoyed writing them.

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

Staci Troilo

Staci's love for writing is only surpassed by her love for family and friends, and that relationship-centric focus is featured in her work, regardless of the genre she's currently immersed in. https://stacitroilo.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    So sad. But I look at it as there is someone out there worse off than I am.

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    I can so relate! Spot on and so true, Staci 💕🙂

  • John W. Howellabout a year ago

    No explanation, Staci.

  • Jan Sikesabout a year ago

    You raise an age-old question, Staci. Well done!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This poem beautifully captures the existential dilemma of the human condition, inviting the reader to reflect deeply on life's ultimate purpose.👌👌👍👍

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    I wish I understood.

  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    Could someone explain? There are thousands of writers trying to answer that important question. And I doubt none of us truly understand. Well done, Staci. 💙

  • Joan Hallabout a year ago

    Lots of food for thought here, and loads of truth.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.