Poets logo

No More Spoons

by Angel Whelan

By Angel WhelanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
5

No More Spoons

You talk of spoons, as though my pain

Has measured doses, all the same –

Take two with breakfast, three at noon,

By bedtime, I’m all out of spoons.

You sometimes find it hard to see

How simple tasks are hurting me,

Like washing up or making beds,

Or is the pain just in my head?

You tell me “nonsense, you look great!”

And think that I exaggerate.

“Don’t be so lazy, you’re just depressed,

You’d feel much better if you dressed!”

When magma courses through my veins

And every joint is carved in flames.

So can you blame me if I say

“I guess I feel okay today,”

Because your sympathy wears thin

And sometimes truths should stay within.

What good does moaning do again?

It’s not like I can share this pain,

So when you mention spoons to me,

I know that it is meant kindly,

And that you’re trying to understand

Or offer me a helping hand,

But what would comfort me much more –

Just leave the small talk at the door,

Don’t say you hope I’m better soon…

And please, dear God, don’t talk of spoons.

fact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Angel Whelan

Angel Whelan writes the kind of stories that once had her checking her closet each night, afraid to switch off the light.

Finalist in the Vocal Plus and Return of The Night Owl challenges.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen A. Roddewig2 years ago

    Great choice to ground the whole reflection in something concrete: spoons. Can be hard to conceptualize something so internal as pain, but who doesn’t know what a spoon is? I also like the use of rhyme to take a heavy subject and inject a little energy and light to strike a nice balance. Plus, it makes for a more engaging read!

  • John Eva2 years ago

    Sheesh. Double sheesh, this was soooo good.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome and amazing!!!😊💖💕

  • Jenna Sedi2 years ago

    Freaking incredible work here! Wow. The rhyming scheme was so natural the whole way. I fully empathize the wish to 'share our pain' with others just so that they would understand how we feel day to day. Great narrative voice here, outstanding work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.