Poets logo

No Home for the Heartbroken

I Won't Ask You to Love Me

By Kassondra O'HaraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
No Home for the Heartbroken
Photo by Aimee Vogelsang on Unsplash

Never again will I beg and plead and promise to,

do all of the things that you wish me to do.

No more will the sun nor moon nor stars rise

to see tears coming from these eyes.

When all I do is seek your praise

you only find disappointment day after day.

What did I do, to make it this way?

Was it you or I or us that changed?

The memories we made of joy are untraceable

I give my all, yet I’m obviously replaceable

My needs have become hollow, the last on the list

We only eat and sleep and co-exist

When is enough finally enough?

Can I even stand on my own? Can I be that tough?

I can’t keep driving down this backwards road

I’ve got to start anew and lighten my load

I will break these chains and set myself free

Because I won’t ask you to love me

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kassondra O'Hara

Working mom who uses her curiosity to fuel the curiosities of others ~ Writes mostly history and true crime

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.