Poets logo

No Cause for Concern

Even when my life's Comic Sans, it reads like Century Gothic.

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Please don't be concerned by all these words

That oxidize when I set them down

The ink gets blurred

And starts tattooing frown lines in my brow

My poetry is purple

It's always been that way

It scares my parents

Spins my memories into much bluer days

Extrapolating my pain

Like Greenland on a Mercator projection

Expanded and distorted beyond all recognition

But that image is the one we remember

See a lie through all your life and it will become familiar

So I take care not to spend too long reading what I write

Because it glorifies my darkness while ignoring my light

Please don't be concerned by all these words

That oxidize when I set them down

The ink gets blurred

And starts tattooing frown lines in my brow

That's not to say I want to minimize my experience

I always start a verse with the intention of being honest

And the emotions I express come from a very real place

But that world's far more ephemeral

Than my Resting Depressed Face

My happiness is commonplace

It doesn't make for moving art

And I might fall to artifice

Ending light years from where I started

In any case, the base conceit is that I'm fine

So take my tragic melodramas with a grain of dust

Let's pick it up

Please don't be concerned by all these words

That oxidize when I set them down

The ink gets blurred

And starts tattooing frown lines in my brow

Please don't be concerned by all these words

That oxidize when I set them down

The ink gets blurred

And starts tattooing frown lines in my brow

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.