Poets logo

No. 5 Who we are

A poem by me

By Alan JohnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sunset over Shakespeare

Maybe I'm dreaming of your ocean eyes

Reflected in the emerald skies

But I don't know

Where summer always goes

It seems to fly out the window with the bees

Your hair's a lovely shade of sunset gold

Which burns the hands which try to hold

What a glow

Yet no one seems to know

This kind of light it always gives off heat

There's gold somewhere in here

I hold that truth so dear

Maybe at the rainbow's end

With my banjo strumming friend

He sings a lovely song

Which inspires me to move along

And dream

Where's the reason in these useless rhymes

Is lack of one such a crime?

There I go

Hitting myself on the nose

That questions how it often goes with me

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alan John

I'm a Virginia based writer/musician looking to find my place in this wild wild world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.