Poets logo

No. 17 Learning to Breathe (pt 1)

You'll get it eventually

By Alan JohnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
No. 17 Learning to Breathe (pt 1)
Photo by Connor Ellsworth on Unsplash

There's so many ways for my restless heart to move

But my head intervenes and I never really choose

But now at last I can see the stars shining all around me

Though the wind it has a chill it's never bothered me especially

So close your eyes and fall asleep

The night is peaceful here

Just lay back and dream; stay with me my dear

From the head to the heart I don't know which way to go

While my lion's pride has never been my home

It's time to set free all the expectations holding me

It's true I need to ground but I've bound myself exceedingly

All these colors run so deep

The sky is oh so clear

Up above the starlight gleams

As peace transcends any fear

Its easy to say it's better to love and lose

When the only love that I've lost is the one I didn't choose

But now I'm

Learning to breathe

And I'm feeling things so deeply

Though I still feel let down

It always happens beautifully

So feel the earth run deep

The night's nothing to fear

It's never as dark as it seems

My lungs are finally breathing clear

I'm breathing

Your breath again

I'm feeling

Your depth again

Jesus

Just tell me when

We're gonna run

We're gonna run

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alan John

I'm a Virginia based writer/musician looking to find my place in this wild wild world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.