Poets logo

Night Mares

Because Limp Bizkit refuses to die

By Brent TharpPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Roll on.

Roll, steeds—

Carry me when I bleed.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Roiling the fury through the night,

Blind me

With your eyes so bright.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Plunge deep

The horror, the release,

The beck and call, to lose it all.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Smoke rises . . .

From the hollow.

Stamp it down; trample my soiled crown.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Tamp me brown,

Collapse my walls.

Possess nothing, but call it all.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

No matter, you say, where I’ve been,

You will gladly crush my soul again.

slam poetryhow to
1

About the Creator

Brent Tharp

I edit STEM books. I like writing, cats, and wine, though not necessarily in that order.

I was raised by wolves in a small forest somewhere in Middle America.

Why don't ketchup bottles squirt correctly? All or nothing seems grifty to me.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shari2 years ago

    Another masterful odd creation. Can't get enough of this writer!! 😳🙈

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.