Poets logo

New Song Training

An Ekphrastic challenge entry

By Judey Kalchik Published 10 days ago Updated 10 days ago 1 min read
By Christy Munson

I am losing

Parts of us,

By mistake? Or somehow choosing

To open-handed release my you: no fuss only wonder at the weight remaining.

The touch/taste/smell and sigh of we

Has seeped inside these walls and beams

Darts out of sight too quick for me to see

Leaving the timbre of your voice, it seems

Just out of reach despite my heart’s determined straining.

I don’t know when you last laughed

What warmed your heart

Or left you cold adrift upon a raft

Of longing, needing touch to jump start

And renew that vitality seeping, weeping, draining.

Can I call to you with music? Which song

Will guide you to me across space and time?

Will you hear me? Has it been so long

Since we wove ourselves together, knit with rhyme

Flying sure into eternity, towards forever aiming.

When did you last the sweet chords strum?

What chorus, bridge, and melody

Did you sing to me to coax me come

Into your arms? All I know is you: now far from me

As I dust your guitar, the strings thrum reproachfully complaining.

Did I not love enough, or not so well

That your spirit/body suffered life and left

Now I remain, and silent strings refuse to tell

Me of love with the notes you coaxed. I am bereft

As I breathe across the strings and dream the notes, tears blur, the music staining.

-

This poem is an entry into Mackenzie Davi’s latest ekphrastic challenge. I was assigned the image heading this poem to inspire a story or poem of my choice.

You can see the other entrants and read more about the challenge here:

Ekphrastic

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout 8 hours ago

    Heartbreak for sure here

  • Babs Iverson5 days ago

    Lovely yet heartwrenching!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Poppy 6 days ago

    This is gorgeously heartbreaking Judey. So well written. I thought this would be my favourite part but then found so many more astounding lines: 'I don’t know when you last laughed What warmed your heart Or left you cold adrift upon a raft" Incredibly beautiful poem!!

  • D.K. Shepard8 days ago

    Great poem and use of Christy’s photo for inspiration!! Loved “Can I call to you with music? Which song Will guide you to me across space and time?”

  • Muhammad Safdar10 days ago

    You can also read my stories.

  • Muhammad Safdar10 days ago

    Nice one

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.