Poets logo

New Shoes Blues

Kids say the darndest things!

By Nattalie GordonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
#bruises 

At long last I’ve got my new shoes

Now it’s time to take them on a cruise

I know my mommy won’t be amused

When I tell her she bought the wrong sized shoes.

She asked me twice if they were ok

Not really, but I made her pay for them anyway

Now not a word to her I dare not say

They were the last pair left on sale that day.

My BFF told me they would stretch

I shouldn’t have listened to her, that wretch

‘They will feel better soon’ was what she said

Now my poor little feet are all blistered and red.

I just knew I’d look totally cool

I’d be the only one to have them in my entire school

They say beauty pains and for me that’s true

I wouldn’t listen to that nonsense if I were you.

Is there a band-aid or something I could use?

I just need to get rid of these new shoes blues.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nattalie Gordon

I grew up in rural Jamaica. I write screenplays, stage plays, poems, essays, articles etc.

I love horror movies, seafood and almost all sports. Feel free to check me out at nattaliegordon.weebly.com and follow me on IG @nattaliewithtwoteez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.