Poets logo

New Me

For the new year

By JupiterPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
New Me
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

I peel the flayed skin layer by layer, revealing a smooth, new canvas of fresh flesh

Like a reptilian of warm blood I swallow what was once a part of me as I become anew

Caress my scars and mend my broken bones, heal the ugly and the hurt

Turn my ashes into wings and fly above the horizon, across the oceans, into the ozone

Dive beneath the currents and pluck my hopes and dreams from the maw of the deep valley beast

Greet the sun with new teeth that sink into muscle and sinew guiding the beat of my heart to a slow rhythm

Turn your gaze to the night sky and behold the stars with eyes that could not see

I will breathe everlasting life into you

Free Versesurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jupiter

Born and raised in Detroit with a passion for writing and exploring the world of literature. I hope to one day write for an award winning television series and becoming a well-known screenwriter. I hope you enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Britney McClain5 months ago

    Absolutely amazing. I read it 8 times so I could focus & enjoy a different section each time. So detailed, strong, very inspirational and your words are well placed. I can’t wait to see what you write going forward!

  • Oh wow, this was extremely powerful! Loved your poem so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.