Poets logo

Neverland

A Poem

By Ezra BerkmanPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Reminiscing on my early years

Like the other day

Encaging my rage

For all the things I can't contain

I medicated my violent ways

By meditating on 72 sacred names

If only I could evade my fate

Liquidate my pain

Still strapped, bullets still encased

Uzi rumbled all the same

But I did not engage

I found another way

This page was my escape

I won't make the same mistakes

Cuz Elijah is at the gates

I was cursed

About to burst

But with the tables I turned

I was able to learn

A way with words

I got lost in the verse

I miss my simple roots

Took poverty as a virtue

And still I never succumbed

To substance abuse

Even with the rifts in my youth

If only they knew

The efforts I went to

To conceal these wounds

Born and raised

With one hand tied around my back

Embracing my pain

In the life that I once had

Dealt a bad hand

And still I ain't never see

The lines in the sand

Never gave up the dreams I have

I was an addict for havoc

And a junky for madness

I romanced sadness

And I buried the hatchet

But it kept growing back

I reminisce on the west side of the tracks

And I loved every moment

Perhaps I'm a little broken

And these ryhmes are all that's left

But I can't miss what I never had

Im just trapped in Neverland

I learned from my mistakes

Turned these ashes to roses

And grew em' in the shade

Turned straw to gold

Everyday I fought my thoughts

And always saw the hope

I wouldn't have it any other way

No stranger to struggle

I was a flower never watered

The danger made me humble

Even though I was troubled

Still I kept my composure

I ain't never stumble

Spittin to the rhythm of this rifle piston

I never listened

To the devil on my shoulder

I shoot for the stars, I got no limits

Living at the edge gave me comfort

I never faulted, it was magic

Take me to the place where there is no light

And I bet you I can find it

I love my working mother

And the hardship that held us together

Cuz there is a message in this bottle

And it says that things get better

And I know it made us stronger

I miss the laughs between the grief

Coming up from under

The uneasy peace in the streets

It was the simple things

That I thought would last forever

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ezra Berkman

Life is so much better when you write it down.

Poet and novelist. All for my own enjoyment.

Currently writing a memoir and an alternate history novel "Where the River Narrows"

I may be reached personally at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.