Poets logo

Never to Look Back Again

an original poem by Jason White

By Jason WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Never to Look Back Again
Photo by Silviu Beniamin Tofan on Unsplash

After the sunshine

Always comes the rain

After a high point

We always feel the pain

Empty bottles

Cover my tables

They lay flowers at my feet

I still breath

But to them I am dead

I used to be more

A warrior with great stature

My perspective

Is no longer reality

The man I once was

The life I left behind

Stares back at me as a memory

The world around me

Drowns me

Because I let the grief take hold

Now like a once-mighty ship

I am mighty no more

So now I drown my failure

Try to hide my self-hatred

And to them

I am now dead

They lay flowers at my feet

Bow their heads

And say prayers for me

Tears are shed

As they walk away

Never to look back again

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jason White

Jason White is a father, a grandfather, knowledge seeker and sharer. Jason is the owner of Growth Positive Consulting where he puts his fundraising and management skills to great use. He is a writer, a woodworker, and a philanthropist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.