Poets logo

Never Sell Yourself Short

When They Devalue You, Value Yourself

By Misbah SheikhPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
Image created by author using MidJourney

The wounds that bleed so long, ⁤

with the passing of time, ⁤

Don't bleed anymore. ⁤

⁤The scars they left behind ⁤

are forever to stay, ⁤

reminds me of the time

when I trusted you⁤

only to get into disarray. ⁤

⁤The chaos you brought, ⁤

⁤a sea of water can't wash away. ⁤

⁤Like ink on paper ⁤

⁤it's permanently set, like ⁤

⁤a reminder of the day ⁤

⁤when my heart was met ⁤

⁤with the coldness of your betrayal. ⁤

⁤I now walk through life's endless corridor, ⁤

⁤each step echoing the past. ⁤

⁤Yet, in the pain, ⁤

⁤there's a lesson learned, ⁤

⁤a strength that's bound to last ⁤

⁤For in every scar, there's a story, ⁤

⁤a battle that I've won ⁤

⁤And though you're no longer with me, ⁤

⁤I'm no longer undone ⁤

⁤In the mirror of time, ⁤

⁤my reflection has grown ⁤

⁤No longer a prisoner of sorrow ⁤

I stand tall alone ⁤

⁤For every tear has fallen, ⁤

⁤a new hope is born ⁤

⁤In the garden of my soul, ⁤

⁤where once was only thorn ⁤

⁤So, I thank you for the wounds, ⁤

⁤for they taught me to fight ⁤

⁤They turned into scars ⁤

⁤To seek the light and

⁤to reach for what is right. ⁤

⁤In the silence of your absence ⁤

⁤I've found my truest voice, ⁤

⁤And in the depth of your betrayal, ⁤

⁤I've made my bravest choice ⁤

Don't cling to those who consistently show they are better off alone. Instead of blocking their path, grant them the room to walk away. Some people in your life may never fully appreciate your worth. It's not because they are inherently bad people; not everyone can recognize your true value. Just as a gem requires the discerning eye of a jeweler to appreciate its worth and beauty, not everyone can see the depth of your worth. At the right time, the right person will come and appreciate your soul's and character's beauty. Until then, stop devaluing yourself by clinging to those who don't appreciate your worth. Never sell yourself short, even if you love them to the moon and back. When people choose to walk out of your life, let them walk away. Do it for you. Pain always leaves a gift.

- © Misbah Sheikh 2024

performance poetrysad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Misbah Sheikh

I am Misbah Sheikh. I am a lover of words, I have been writing poetry for as long as I can remember. I am a true poet. I have a bachelor's degree in Psychology and arts. You can also follow me on Medium and HubPages.

Medium: @misbahsheikhh

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very powerful poem!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler5 months ago

    Oh, Misbah, your poem is beautiful and hopeful and strong. I love it and everyone should read it and embrace it for the truths it unveils about humans. Kudos!

  • Your poem was so poignant, emotional and relatable! And I totally agree with what you've said. There's just no point sticking around where we're not valued. A ship is if no value to the roads. So instead, it should go to the sea 🥰🥰🥰

Misbah SheikhWritten by Misbah Sheikh

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.