Poets logo

Never Meant to be

The love between you and me

By Dianna HoilandPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Never Meant to be
Photo by Nico Marks on Unsplash

A meeting destined by fate

Two lost souls reeling from heartbreak

You stole my heart

Drawn to you from the start

Across the room you caught my eye

What a lovely looking guy

Like a moth drawn to the flames

Neither of us could be tamed

A kiss that lit me on fire

Your passion I admire

You gave me your heart

I never planned to tear it apart

Our lives set on different paths

It doesn't take much math

It is plain to see

It was never meant to be, you and me

Round and round we went

Both a little bent

Lost in a haze

You wouldn't leave for days

Scared to part

We did not behave very smart

Our mistakes left us reeling

But we both craved that feeling

A passion for each other that never broke

How about we share a smoke?

Time and time again we played this game

We both must take the blame

The nights we spent laid up in bed

In the morning our feet felt like lead

Our love story had to many plot twists

I am sure we both have our lists

But in the end

We both were able to mend

A friendship created through a shared experience

Our talks often quite serious

Those nights we ran to each other looking for solace

Not wasted, I hold no malice

Though things got rough

We both were always so tough

We made it through the whirl wind we created

And both will find what we are fated

The best of luck to my lover lost

I know you will succeed no matter the cost

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Dianna Hoiland

My name is Dianna Robertson but I publish in my maiden name Hoiland. I am a 29 year old mother of 4 beautiful kids. 2 girls and 2 boys. Currently studying communications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.