Poets logo

Never Meant To Be

A Poem

By Allyssa VossPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

If you could get a glimpse inside my head,

You'd surely wish that you were dead,

You'd wish you'd never seen the things inside me.

You'd wish that you were gone,

And that your mind had been all wrong,

But even after all was said, they won't believe me.

Ohhhh and why don't you see,

That this is all just misery.

And ohhhh why don't you see,

That this was never meant to be.

I used to be so kind, so calm,

But then the world, it did me wrong,

So I have a bit of hate residing in me.

I was told my life was mine,

I needed space, I needed time,

To be a child before it was ripped from me.

Ohhhh and why can't you see,

That this has all been misery?

And ohhhh why can't you see,

That this was never meant to be.

Pretty please don't play with me,

My papier mâché heart will bleed,

And then I might just have to run and hide

I don't want to see the light,

I want to stay, to guard the night,

I want so bad to stay within my pride.

But you can't see, you can't feel,

My broken paper heart won't heal,

And there you go again to steal it all.

You fooled me good, so now you go,

You say I was the first to know,

But I know the real truth behind it all.

You're higher than a kite, you see,

You've managed to make my heart bleed,

I want to pull you off your 'golden' throne.

You said I love you, please don't lie,

You'll only make me start to cry,

So stay well away from everything I own.

Cause I never want to see you fall,

And you cannot hope to have it all,

What little love for you there was left in me.

That tiny glow is almost gone,

The misery is almost done,

Because I have so little faith left within me

Ohhhh and why can't you see,

that is is nothing but memory.

And ohhhh why can't you see,

that this was never meant for me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.