Poets logo

Near

A poem

By Alex BarryPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Near
Photo by Sebastian Pichler on Unsplash

Lockjaw, brain like coleslaw

Still took time to study law

Pills really will fuck you raw

Wills, deals, and lines are all drawn

...

Open Morning headlines

They say, prepared to die

Powder keg, world wide

Everything the same, ran by crime

...

But I know y’all hate me

All cause I stayed low key

Had my word cut out, so damn sorry

But I’m back now to make you scream

...

Five years later, dad still buried

Crisis actor, still feel crazy

Half of it you Wouldn’t believe

So why bother to even speak

...

I feed them signs til they grow fat

Read lines, and then break their back

Look Up on high, What is that?

Those are Wires gods still attached

...

Don’t you know my babe?

I’m the royal king of pain

Here to make it fucking rain

loyal one, if you want the same

...

I’m type A they all say

Jokes on you, It’s all fucking fake

Little do they know, all the self hate

So I act like I’m from space

...

Don’t know how I lay it down

Too fucking real, leave ‘em drowned

Under a wave of my thoughts

They so ugly, might slip, get caught

...

Clear cut, the hills are left bare

This shouldn’t bury your care

Mirror what they fucking fear

Listen, can you hear me? it’s near

...

Look at me, You probably scared

Never met anyone like this

Look here, I’m still fucking rare

Never wasted, You’re still missed

...

Met a man once, cool dude

on top of the street hill, real skill

Asked for a smoke, gave him two

Came back, same place, blood spilled

...

He gone, pigs can’t find a clue

Knew I walked past his killer

This town will leave you black and blue

Things like these sending ripples

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.