Poets logo

Names and Job Titles Are About as Useful as Dog Collars

An opinion piece

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like

I’ve jumped out of an airplane with one of my friends after deciding on a Sunday that it might be something fun to do.

I’ve had CPR administered by the hardest working man there ever was, my dad, a man I've only seen cry once when he lost his own, and I have lived as if tomorrow wasn’t promised while at least once believing it to be the case for me.

In my younger years, I was not always faithful, but after witnessing those bee stings and getting stung myself several times, I act now as if I were allergic to bees, and I forever choose to live honestly, faithfully, and contently with the jar of honey I have at home.

But don't go looking in my pantry because I'm a mess. But from the chaos that is my thoughts, there is an x that marks the spot, and I would be lying if I said I did not think I had the ability to create a masterpiece in my lifetime as a wordsmith and plate-spinner of hubris and humility.

I love my momma and thank her often for all the things she has taught me and the traits I took from her, the good and bad, yes, even the bad, such as having to monitor my drinking and gambling like a baby taking an afternoon nap.

I’ve also come to believe that in this world, if you are lucky enough to have good friends, the darkness doesn’t feel so dark, so when the sun goes down, I am never surprised to hear neighbors complain about the floodlights shining through their windows, because if occasionally staying up late to drink, laugh, and reminisce was an Olympic sport, my friends would look similar to the 92’ Olympic dream team that captured gold in Barcelona.

Barcelona happens to be a city I love very much, but not for the topless beaches, but because I happened to be there at a time when I would vacation without use of PTOs because I was just fine being broke.

These days, I have PTOs and with that, comes a job title, which seems to be all the rage. But I think names and job titles are about as useful as dog collars; they may state a name, number, and address, but, we choose who we are and how we live.

Yeah, I think names and job titles are about as useful as dog collars; they may state a name, number, and address, but we choose who we are and how we live.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.