Poets logo

Names

Tag, This is (Not) You

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 8 months ago 1 min read

Names

Are they all we have?

Do they define us?

Is our fate set when pen hits birth certificate?

Mine, Andrew, means 'strong' 'manly' 'courageous'

While that would be nice

It's not really me

I can be courageous if necessary

I am strong in my convictions

If not especially so in body

Only my wife thinks I'm 'manly'

But she's prejudiced on the subject

Would I have been different

Had I been given a different name?

Maybe. Maybe not.

We all become what our parents, our family, our friends, our society makes of us ... to a point.

Mostly we become what we make of ourselves.

If my name had been Thaddeus

I would like to think I would still be a good friend

A good father

A good husband

A good man

Perhaps I should just go by my middle name...

Clark...

I like it

But it came from cleric ...

Someone who works in the clergy

That's not me either

Clark can also, in Latin, mean scholarly, wise

There are those who have thought so

And those who insist the opposite

I do have a college degree and like to think I'm not totally clueless...

But, still and all ... ...

Mostly, I'm Andy

And happy enough to be so

surreal poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    "Mostly we become what we make of ourselves." - So true!

  • But your writing have proved you to be wise and scholarly! Dharrsheena neans Goddess of Light and here I am delivering darkness to everyone with my stories and poems 🤣

  • This was really excellent. A lot of really good thoughts, theories, and ideas. I got a lot out of reading this. Very well written and good flow to the words. I subscribed to you.

  • Arslan8 months ago

    Good work keep it up

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.