Poets logo

Naive

Poem

By GenevievePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Naive
Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

A boy and a girl,

battered and bruised.

Not sure where to turn,

in this world.

All of our pain,

leaving us confused.

With our hearts a little blurred,

I saw a friend in your eyes.

A little hope in your smile,

both of us wearing no disguise.

We opened our hearts,

for the first time in a while,

praying we'd never hear anymore lies.

You weren't supposed to hurt me,

you promised me you'd never be like him,

you said it was something you could never do.

You weren't supposed to hurt me,

you said I was the one thing that got you through.

You weren't supposed to hurt me,

Cuz I can't stop loving you.

I can't imagine how I'll make it through,

when my whole world became you.

So young and so naive,

we held everything.

Finding true love at 15,

filled our hearts.

All of our joy,

leaving us high.

With our reality a little skewed,

I saw forever in your eyes.

A promise in your smile,

both of us reaching for the sky.

We had faith in our love,

nothing we weren't willing to try,

to show the world that we could fly.

You weren't supposed to disappear,

you swore to me that's something that I'd never have to fear,

you said it was something you could never do.

You weren't supposed to disappear,

you said I was the one thing that got you through.

You weren't supposed to disappear,

cuz I can't stop loving you,

I can't imagine how I'll make it through,

when my whole world became you.

Got the call,

that broke me.

That's the day,

that I lost it all.

All of our love,

vanished in a flash.

That's the night my heart died,

when I saw vacancy in your eyes.

Kept trying to remember your smile,

but like you it was gone forever.

My love couldn't bring you back,

my tears echoed my goodbye,

as I asked god why?

You weren't supposed to stop loving me,

you said it was something you could never do.

You weren't supposed to stop loving me,

you said I was the only thing that got you through.

You weren't supposed to stop loving me,

cuz I can't stop loving you,

I can't imagine how I'll make it through,

when my whole world became you.

You weren't supposed to hurt me,

you promised me you'd never be like him.

You weren't supposed to disappear,

You swore to me that's something I'd never have to fear.

You weren't supposed to stop loving me,

when you vowed that to me,

I never thought death would part us here.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Genevieve

Learning to process the experiences of life, my own or those of others, brought me to turn my feelings into words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.