Poets logo

MYSELF CHANGE

Clever and Wise

By Rayhan MollaPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
MYSELF CHANGE
Photo by Olivia Bauso on Unsplash

Yesterday I was clever,

With grand visions in my mind,

I wanted to change the world,

And leave my mark behind.

I saw the problems far and wide,

The suffering and the pain,

And in my youthful fervor,

I thought change was not in vain.

But oh, how time has taught me,

That wisdom comes with age,

For today I am much wiser,

And my perspective starts to change.

The world, so vast and complex,

Is not a simple puzzle to solve,

And my noble aspirations,

Needed a dose of self-evolve.

So today I am turning inward,

To understand my flaws,

To shed old habits that bind me,

And break self-imposed laws.

I am learning to be kinder,

To listen and to empathize,

To work on my own shortcomings,

With truth as my ally.

For if I want to change the world,

I must first start with myself,

And cultivate the love within,

That can be shared with someone else.

No longer do I chase grand ideals,

In the realm of the unknown,

But instead, I focus on the present,

Where true transformation is sown.

For yesterday I was clever,

But today I am truly wise,

In changing myself, I find solace,

And see beauty in compromise.

So let us all strive for self-growth,

And embrace the lessons we learn,

For only by changing ourselves,

Can we create a world to yearn.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Rayhan Molla

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was brimming with positivity! It was very powerful and uplifting!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.