Poets logo

My Worst Nightmare

Poetry

By Ann Silvers Published 24 days ago 1 min read
2

The darkness surrounds me,

Creeping up from all sides,

Closing in, suffocating,

As my terror intensifies.

I'm paralyzed with fear,

Unable to move or scream,

Trapped in this living nightmare,

As shadows loom and scheme.

I strain to see through the blackness,

But nothing is visible at all.

The silence is deafening,

As I wait for the other shoe to fall.

My heart pounds in my ears,

As panic sets deep in my core.

I know something is out there,

Just beyond the bedroom door.

What horrors await me,

I can scarcely begin to guess.

The uncertainty is maddening,

Ratcheting up my distress.

I long to wake from this nightmare,

To be safe in the light of day.

But the darkness refuses to release me,

Holding me prisoner where I lay.

How long will this torment continue?

When will the terror finally end?

I've never felt so utterly helpless,

As the abyss seems to descend.

This must be my worst nightmare come to life,

A living hell I cannot escape.

I pray I will wake from this horror,

Before my sanity meets its fate.

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Ann Silvers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani23 days ago

    Sad, heartbreaking, but very deep and real poem. Hope you're okay!

  • Sweileh 88824 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content. Keep posting more now

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.