Poets logo

My Words

A Poem

By Callum J. ScheiberPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Words
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I am a poem

And you are perfectly literate

You raked over me

Pouring over my stanzas

And analyzing my metaphors

You scoured me

Until you could make any meaning

You wanted

And then with your friends

You laughed at me

You laughed at the silliness

of how naive I was

How stupid and cliche

And uninspired I seemed to be

Did they know how gently

You lingered on my words

Gaining comfort from me

when everything else

Had failed you

Did they know

How you cried behind closed doors

How I brought down your walls

Like nothing else

And when I no longer affected you

When you found

no more comfort in my words

When you weren't brought low

By me anymore

You tossed me aside

You burned my book

And put my ashes in the trash

But I have a secret

I am not a poem

written only to you

I am words that were made

With infinite potential

And I was always more

Than how much I gave to you

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.