Poets logo

MY WISHFLOWER

...

By T. LichtPublished 9 days ago 1 min read

I bend down to your slim stem

My kneecaps dirty with grass stains

And watch my breath ruffle through your wispy hair

Every whisper is like a wind plucking another stand

I don't want to watch you go, so I stop breathing

And look, just a moment you and I together

But then you drop me so suddenly and go to the winds

I watch you waltz together

Dip, bob, sway, swing, swirl

Oh, Go Gently wind, I beg

I can hear your panting breath

as your stature tilts and stoops

Oh Slow down, please

then they go, strand by strand

up with the wind, above my head

into the stratosphere, for miles and miles

I want to cry. I want to scream.

Wind what are you doing?

Then so suddenly you go still

My breath falls again against your bald stem

I can see your beaten look of regret

but I can't find it in me to forget

My fingers wrap around your spindly bald stem

snatch it, and toss it to the wind

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

T. Licht

I have a love for words and a love to share them.

Well then, enjoy and thank you for taking the time to read this and maybe if you want subscribe;)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Sasi Kala3 days ago

    nice work!

  • A poignant and touching piece!

  • Michelle Liew6 days ago

    We often don’t realise that we terminate our own wishes by our actions! Well, said!

T. LichtWritten by T. Licht

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.