Poets logo

My White Haven

Coming Home

By Jenna MartinPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

It was a cool, autumn night

September came without a bite this year.

There was snow all around

Hidden, concealed.

My heart was racing, pounding

From the center of my being.

Emotion after emotion

Lasting only a few minutes each

Running, galloping through my veins

Sweat in tiny droplets

Running down the back of my neck

It was still snowing in the back of my mind

Continuous, growing

But I had spent too much

Too much time in the endless Winter Wonderland

My mind racing as fast as a NASCAR

I use excuse after excuse

To explain the state my mind is vacationing in

The voices growing

Louder, stronger

Yelling, screaming - bitching

Straight out of hell

I try to forget them; tune them out.

But nothing works

The snow, blinding white

Consumes everything; every particle of my being

I can't run away

I can't hide

The avalanche racing toward me

Nothing left to do

I turn and embrace the blizzard

Swirling, consuming, appealing

Again - my wintery world quiets

The voices are calm

Everything at peace

I feel nothing and yet I see everything

Observing my own corruption

The Winter Wonderland melts away

Towers - sharp, giant black

He who rules looks down upon my pitiful self

Called out to the useless one,

"Sell your soul to me and

"You will once again see your world of white dust."

I look around me

Flames - licking, biting, hungry for the fresh meat on my bones

Lost in the unknown

I turned to find my haven

Crystal white

Tempting, prompting, calling

Out for me to come home

The voices string up choruses of

"It's yours," "come back" and "we've missed you"

I cross the line from dark to light

From heat to numb

From sane to crazy

No more excuses

It's snowing in my mind's eye

My home, my friends, my snowy Wonderland

Waiting in the dark of my mind

Continuously waiting...

For me to come home.

sad poetrysurreal poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jenna MartinWritten by Jenna Martin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.