Poets logo

My Vocal Race

Winning the Unseen Prize

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 years ago 2 min read
54
My Vocal Race
Photo by Ethan Hoover on Unsplash

If I bought a lottery ticket and gave them my numbers

I'd have a hope to win or else it's throwing money away, right?

I'd watch the drawing, or whatever it is, online

Clutching fast the tickets

And from the time I bought the ticket until the numbers were drawn.

I'd have been rich.

If I ran a race, well I'd never do that in the shape I'm in

But if I trained and was disciplined and fit, by some miracle,

I would run and pace myself knowing that the finish line was my goal

And likely pour on speed the closer I got to it,

Crossing the line would be a victory even if I came in last.

Finishing would mean I'd won.

I've been a line cook and dishwasher for pay, although not much pay,

I've learned how to debone a chicken and clean a meat slicer,

I've been taught by women half my age the 'right' way to shell an egg,

I've hired, fired, coached, and counseled.

I've been part-time and been a director with a promised bonus.

None of those labels defined my success.

I married for escape, redemption, completion, and later married for love.

I've cooked and cleaned out of duty, as a distraction, and release from fear.

I've sung to my siblings, my God, and to put my babies to sleep.

I've sewed to create beauty and because I couldn't afford new.

I've cried out of terror, frustration, rage, joy, and pity.

The meaning of my actions sometimes unknown even to myself.

These day I write when I should be sleeping, cleaning, weeding, resting.

Jot down half-realized topics and sentences, for use some other later-on.

I puzzle trying to decode what would garner approval and win recognition

Chasing fleeting digital fame and that online big payout.

And from the time I submit the words until the winners are announced

I have been rich.

Like the tickets I don't buy, the challenges I enter don't pay my bills.

Both the imagined and the real, the same frizzle of anticipation in waiting,

The same hope and weighing of odds.

Like the race I have yet to run I know the prize I now receive from writing

Isn't a thing I can frame, wear, or place on a shelf.

It's the stretching of my limits and the prize of I Have Tried.

inspirational
54

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn6 months ago

    So glad you shared this again. Loved it, very inspiring and true

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    You’ve captured the essence then and it’s proven true over time. Luv the lottery ticket analogy. You’re rich until you check the number. 😎

  • Atomic Historian6 months ago

    I love this mindset Judey

  • Suze Kay6 months ago

    Words that have withstood the rest of time. Thanks for sharing, Judey!

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    That’s exactly how I feel about this, too.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Well said. I enjoyed reading this again.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Reading this a second time was as satisfying as the first. Very well spoken.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Re-read!!! Previously 💖

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Very relatable, Judey. I have stretched my limits a great deal since I joined Vocal last June.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    I couldn't agree more with Judey. It's kind of like life, it's more about the journey than the destination.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I love this. Well done.

  • Excellent words, I write because I enjoy writing, and use challenges a stimulant for my creations

  • I love this. So introspective and inspirational, and one of the most relatable poems I have read in a while 🖤

  • Thank you for the encouragement

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.