Poets logo

My Time Capsule Haiku Challenge

My submissions to the Time Capsule Haiku Challenge…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
My Time Capsule Haiku Challenge
Photo by Catherine Hughes on Unsplash

Another Vocal challenge is over! The Time Capsule Haiku Challenge was amazing, and it made me really proud of my growth in poetry over the last few months. I enjoyed the theme of “time” and all the ways I could tackle it. If you know my writing, then you know that I typically turn every challenge into a way I can bring attention to life as a Black person, and I did that a lot this time around. Now that the winners are all announced, I wanted to have a place where all my submissions “lived.” This may be something that I do specifically for the poetry challenges for me, but I’m hoping a few of you subscribers may appreciate it too (can’t believe I actually have subscribers now). Enjoy, and congratulations everyone who participated and the winners…

*1. My Ancestors

I see you aging…

Back curled from the loads you’ve held…

Still marching, for me…

2. Respect Your Elders

You have what I want…

Wrinkled skin, grey hair, and time…

Please share your secrets…

3. If My Hands Are Tied

If my hands are tied…

Help me move forward again…

Don’t leave me behind…

4. 18:00

The clocks struck 18…

People say I’m an adult…

What do I do now…

*5. ‘Til I Dream Again

I can see you here…

Smooth dark skin, and smile like mine

Sun lighting your eyes

I can feel you here…

Warm hugs from father to son

Then, you wipe my tears

I can hear you here…

We laugh, we sing, we lament

Watching the time fade

I am with you here…

But, a few blinks and you’re gone,

‘Til I dream again

6. What Lasts Forever

What lasts forever?

What will never disappear,

And immune from death…

7. Heart On The Page

Reading your journal…

I feel your heart on the page…

A heart stopped too soon…

8. Mama’s Old Photo Album

Let’s go back in time,

And flip through pages of love

Where memories live…

9. You Lived

I’ll plant seeds for you

So I remember you lived,

And didn’t just die…

social commentarylist
3

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.