Poets logo

My Thoughts Wither

words in a glass

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
My Thoughts Wither
Photo by Todd Diemer on Unsplash

My thoughts feel like grapes never picked.

Left alone in the heat just to wither.

Walking down to the cellar, I hold small flames that dance and flicker.

Unabashed, I say meaningless things like,

“The melting point of wax means nothing to me.”

But I admit,

the candles stay close to my chest

when walking down those shadowed steps from which I retreat

to fill oak barrels, dank and musty,

while telling myself, I must be catching a cold, but I know it is just an excuse to excuse myself from getting old.

I wonder

do my words smell better fresh

or is it possible

their aroma becomes more pleasant refined with time.

Tell me here and now,

if you sipped my words from a glass,

would you taste the sweetness of wine?

Or would you just taste bitter?

My thoughts wither.

Thanks for taking the time to read "My Thoughts Wither." If you enjoyed this poem feel free to read some of my other work on Vocal or come see me on Medium to read some of my stuff over there.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    I really like this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.