Poets logo

My Talk with the Tree

A Candid Conversation

By Nick DehlerPublished 9 days ago 1 min read

Do you feel the breeze, its cool touch so gentle?

I see it shake the trees

An effect that’s incidental

Are the sun’s rays hotter so much higher in the sky?

They warm me and they feed me, but to compare? I can’t comply.

You were small once also, were you not, Old Friend?

True, but distant memories have a way of wandering off around the bend.

It’s true that your existence has stretched much further than mine

Yes, much time still remains in which your light may shine

Do you tire of the birdsongs, or the croaking of the frogs?

Never

What about the sight of sunrise, or the touch of fog?

I will delight in them forever

What wisdom can you offer to one such as myself?

Take joy in all the world’s creations; nature is the spirit’s wealth

nature poetry

About the Creator

Nick Dehler

Several times referred to as "The Pirate"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Joe Patterson9 days ago

    Nice job.

  • That's so awesome. I love it

Nick DehlerWritten by Nick Dehler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.