Poets logo

My Sweet Jasmine

a poem about an artist

By Brittney GiardinaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

The sweet honey scent of your

delicate

Bloom

cascades over me,

Guides me.

Oh sweet jasmine.

White blouses and white socks

Mark the naivety of my youth.

Head down

I walk alongside your gates.

My head rises

Flooded from the storm

Of your intoxication.

I am full. I am well.

The star form of your

Unadorned

View

Gives me wonder,

Gives me awe.

Oh sweet jasmine.

A blank piece

Of white paper calls to me

In the night.

Pencil shavings clutter another masterpiece.

I am the midnight sky,

You are the glimmers of hope,

Thousands of reminders

Of the morning light.

The airy softness of your

Mysterious

Petals

Are as uplifting

As a nostalgic kiss.

Oh sweet jasmine.

Sweat drips down my face

Staining another white shirt,

As I run toward,

Away from,

And no where at all.

I stop

Feeling the man made hills

Of my arm.

You can fill the rivers

And rivens

If not forever,

Then for now.

The hidden sin of your

Forbidden

Fruit

Provokes me,

Brings me an earthly salvation.

Oh sweet jasmine.

I remember being next to you

As I brushed her hand

Thought about her lips.

As I took a bite

And tasted the saccharine mush,

I took a white napkin

To clean.

I satiated

My godforsaken appetite.

The angelic sigh of your

Honeyed

Lullaby

Puts me to sleep.

Brings me peace.

Oh sweet jasmine.

I stare at a blank canvas,

My own tabula rasa.

I create

My own forbidden fruit.

I paint,

Covering the white,

Covering the past.

The sweet honey scent of my

Heaven sent

Constellation

Forever blooms,

Never dies.

My sweet jasmine.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Brittney Giardina

Brittney R. Giardina is a New Orleans based creative.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.